Looking Back and Going Forward – 2013 in review.

So it is exactly a year since I posted my personal review How life changes – looking back and going forward so now is a perfect time to look at how I did with those challenges set on 1st January 2013.

I decided last year to start running, and did my last run of 2013 yesterday ( a quick 2 miles to break in gently after the Christmas break) I think we can safely say that challenge gets a big tick!

I  did two 5k races when there was snow on the ground late January and early February, joining my husband and daughter, and at this stage I was still doing ‘interval’ running, alternating walking with running, but these events were cross country and a real challenge.

As I already enjoyed cycling and can swim ( although I hate swimming now as before my hip was replaced swimming was all I could do and I got completely sick of it), with being able to run I had no excuse not to join my friend Jo, husband and daughter at a Triathlon in April.  The distances are short, and it is a great way to try out the discipline and get used to the transitions between swimming, cycling and running.  The 2.5 k run at the event was the first time I had run without needing to stop and walk – another great milestone.  Jo did really well too as she was carrying a small passenger!

Super Sprint Triathlon Medals

Super Sprint Triathlon Medals

In September I entered my 2nd Triathlon, again a short super sprint event for me, and I was very pleased to  improve on my times from April.  Since this event I’ve been running more regularly and managed to regularly run 3 miles round Salcey Forest, sometimes getting very very cold and wet, but I now almost look forward to it and feel very twitchy if I can’t get out and do some kind of exercise.

in 2013 I have also consolidated on my weight loss and got more comfortable at my new lower weight.  I’ve tried to dress better for my size, getting better fitting clothing and lobbing some of those old favourites which just hang on me now.  The running, cycling and Zumba have meant my shape has changed even though the scales have not, so I can feel more confident in my clothes.

With my Forever Living business I gained a promotion in January, and I have an established retail business and I am now growing my team and helping them to do the same.  I continue to drink Aloe Gel daily and take supplements to control my cholesterol, improve my Vitamin D levels and increase my Iron stores.  I am sure I would not have the energy to do all my exercise without the support of these products,  I get tremendous satisfaction from seeing how others have benefited from the Aloe Vera products.  The business is primarily about helping others.

I’ve also been able to encourage and support as my sister has managed to improve her health and lifestyle in 2013, leaving her job and going self employed, and she too now is almost unrecognisable from this time last year.  Kate has lost 3 stone, and improved her health with her change of lifestyle. We had a family party for my brother’s 50th birthday on the 29th December and we had a fantastic time – what a great way to end the year!

Kate and I with our family.

Kate and I with our family.

So what will 2014 bring?  More triathlons and more running definitely as I have the bug there.  I would like a road bike as at the moment I use my mountain bike which is very heavy, the hardest part of the triathlon I find is lifting my bike onto the racking!  I’m not sure I want to increase my distances as although I am doing really well I do have to remember my titanium and ceramic hip is almost 8 years old now, and I don’t want to wear it out, but I can work on improving my times.  I did my first Park Run recently and enjoyed it so would like to do a few more of those.

I’m also a member of Northampton Gilbert and Sullivan Group, and we have our next show week commencing 20th January, which is HMS Pinafore at The Royal Theatre in Northampton.  (Tickets now on Sale!) We did an anniversary show this year singing extracts from our favourite shows, and I had the opportunity to sing the part of The Plaintiff in A Nice Dilemma from Trial by Jury.  My first solo in a packed theatre was very nerve racking, but again I had so many compliments I may try for a main role in next year’s production of The Mikado.

This will be my 5th production this year – and looking back at the photos from when I was in Pirates of Penzance in 2010 just shows me how far I have come in the last 4 years.

Pirates in 2010 and Iolanthe in 2013

Pirates in 2010 and Iolanthe in 2013

2 thoughts on “Looking Back and Going Forward – 2013 in review.

  1. Pingback: Couch to 5k …. again! | Silicon Bullet Forever
  2. Pingback: Elliptical Bike – ElliptoGo | Silicon Bullet Forever

Leave a Reply

