Couch to 5k …. again!

So just over 2 years ago after my year of walking 1300 miles I decided that walking just took too long and I needed to find an exercise which burned the calories quicker.  I followed a couch to 5k program back in 2013 and was surprised and pleased to be able to build up to running in a couple of 5k races, and also did 2 triathlons that year too, which has it’s own unique challenge.  Have you ever tried getting off a bike and going straight into a run ?  You get a very weird wobbly leg syndrome!

Super Sprint Triathlon Medals

Super Sprint Triathlon Medals

Unfortunately in 2014 life took an unexpected turn with my father getting ill and passing away all in the space of 2 months.  We have a strong and supportive family, but Dad was a huge part of my life, and losing him so quickly, and seeing him suffer for those 2 months, has affected me far harder than I expected.  For most of last year just getting up each day and keeping going was an effort, many other things in my life were put on hold.

When we were doing lots of events in 2013 we really fancied doing a Colour Run, where you get covered in coloured powder as you run, so last year on the spur of the moment we signed up for the Northamtpon Black Light Run in March this year.  It felt like it was ages away!

Fast forward to February 2015, and an email hit our in boxes with the details of the run, and lo and behold it wasn’t in late March as I thought, but the first weekend in March, giving us 4 weeks to get trained up.  I was rather panicked into action, and rather than doing the nice organised couch to 5k program again, I just got my running shoes on and headed out into Salcey Forest.

I have to admit that despite not having run for so long, after one 2 mile run – walk – run session, I have been able to run 5k on each of my bi-weekly training runs since.  I am very pleased with how my training is going.  One thing I have noticed is that if I remember to take my Forever ARGI+ then I feel much less breahless on my run.  ARGI+ is a powder you mix with water and drink before you exercise,  and provides five grams of L-Arginine per serving, as well as synergistic vitamins. Running never feels easy for me, I say jokingly I am not a runner but a bouncy walker, but I feel a noticeable difference when I drink ARGI+ just before going on my run.

Argi_

So now it is 10 days to go before our Black Light Run, and I can’t say I am enjoying the running, but I am getting our there and doing it, and I enjoy the feeling I get after the run.  Maybe one day if I can stay motivated I might actually enjoy the running part too.

One thought on “Couch to 5k …. again!

  1. Pingback: Blacklight Run – we did it! | Silicon Bullet Forever

Leave a Reply

