Recruiting in Network Marketing

Whether you are new to Network Marketing, or you have been in your business for a while, one of the main things people struggle with is how to grow their team.  If you are in a business with a fantastic product, like I am with Forever Living, then the retailing part of the business, whilst not easy, develops much quicker than the team building part of the business.  However if you really want to make your business grow then building and supporting a team is essential.

Talking too Much

When I first joined Forever in 2012 I was so excited about this new opportunity I had found, linked to products which I already knew and loved, that I tried to tell everyone about how fantastic it was, and I couldn’t understand why some people just didn’t want to listen.  I definitely became an Aloe Bore, and when someone showed even a small shred of interest I tried to dump a whole ton of information on them, which would invariably scare them off.  I’m sure people tiptoed round me and didn’t want to set me off on another Aloe Aly lecture, or even avoided me completely.

talk and listen figures

Keeping things quiet

There then followed a period in my business where I was too scared to tell anyone about what I did after the reactions from my Aloe Bore phase. I just thought nobody wanted to know.  I would be careful not to mention Forever Living on my personal  Facebook profile, and I seemed constantly scared of offending people by mentioning my business.  Then if I saw someone else I knew trying the products from another business owner, or looking at the business through someone else, I would get upset they had not come to me.  But I was so quiet and timid about my business that they probably had no idea I was a Forever business owner myself, and that I wanted to build a team.  This was my Secret Aloe stage.

Striking the Right Balance

I needed to learn not to dump tons of information on anyone that showed a vague interest in my business, but also learn not to be scared to let people know about what I do in my Forever Business day to day.

Through the trainings I have been to since I started my business I have learned that when I am talking to people about my business, the important thing is not telling people how wonderful the business is, or how wonderful the products are, I can demonstrate how I love being a Forever Living Business owner just in the way I live my life, how I feel, what I am doing with my time, I don’t need to force feed the information to anyone.

Then if someone likes what they see and starts to show an interest in the business, what really engages them is what’s in it for them.

Think to yourself, how can they benefit from a business like mine, and most importantly what can you do to help them.  That is what people want to know.

But in order to really connect with someone and be able to show them how a business like yours can give them what they want and need, your first have to listen to find out what motivates them. You can then show and demonstrate how a business like yours will give them what they are looking for,  whether that is money, better lifestyle, more time or something else.

Why will people say No ?No Entry Sign

If you feel like you are being ‘sold’ to you will immediately switch off and not want to listen to what is being said.   Think about how you react to being approached by a cold caller.

People will also say no if they can’t see any personal benefit from joining you.  It’s the What’s in it for ME? syndrome.

How do you get people interested?

When you are approached about the business, and you have listened to why your prospect is interested, how can you prevent yourself from then going back to the talking too much about your opportunity, and scare them into thinking they are being sold to?

First thing is to ask for your prospect’s help in building your business.  Ask them if they know anyone who might like some information about your business opportunity.  Rather than asking them directly, by asking them for help and if they know anyone you are not challenging them or selling to them.  People are far more likely to respond positively, and quite often then say ‘Well I might be interested, can you tell me more?’

The  easiest way instead of trying to tell them all about your business if they do express an interest,is to  offer to send them a video or link to a business presentation which they can watch which will tell them more.  In my business we have a variety of videos, YouTube clips and DVD’s we can share with our prospects which have been developed by successful business owners in our team. Make sure you know what resources are available in your business and have them easily to hand to send to people.

Once they have watched the video they may be interested, or they may not, but if you have managed to get them to watch and consider your business opportunity, then you have at least managed to get over the first hurdle of sharing your business with someone.  The more people who see the information the more likely you are to find those people who really want to join you.

If they are not interested themselves then they might pass your name on to someone they know, or worst case scenario they say they don’t know anyone or they aren’t interested.  You can then just say ‘thanks for listening, I just though I’d ask’ and move on.

Want to learn more?

If you have not yet found the right network marketing business for you, and you are looking for your own business opportunity then get in touch and I can work with you to help you build your business.  Take a look at our Business Brochure to learn more about Network Marketing in general and Forever Living in particular.

Then just contact me for more information and I’ll send you a short video from our team which explains the business in an easy to understand way. I can answer any questions you have and we can work together to build your business and do as I have done so you can achieve your dreams.

network-1020332_1280

If you are already in network marketing and want to learn more about how to improve your prospecting, then talk to your sponsor and up-line about the training that is available in your business, watch and learn and you too can be successful in your business.


 

UK Trading Standards Statutory Warning
”Forever Living Products are a very proud & ethical company who pride ourselves on good practice.
It is illegal for a promoter or a participant in a trading scheme to persuade anyone to make a payment by promising benefits from getting others to join a scheme.
Do not be misled by claims that high earnings are easily achieved”

Leave a Reply

