Updating your Who Do You Know List

What is a Who Do You Know List?

If you are new to Network Marketing then one of the first tasks your sponsor will ask you to do is most likely starting a Who Do You Know List.
WDYKL
On this list you should write down everyone you know, regardless of whether you think they might be interested in  your products or business.  You then use this list as your source for approaching people about the products and the business – but if you have been in Network Marketing for a while have you kept your list going adding new names as you think of them or as you meet people in your every day life and talk to them about your business?

My Story

I let my list go for a long while when I wasn’t totally focused on my business as life had got in the way, but last year when I decided to get serious about recruiting and building a team I printed out a load of template pages from our Forever Living First Steps to Manager book and every time I talked to someone about the business or the products I added them to my list with a short note on how I know them, or where they are based.
This is how I can keep track of how many people I have spoken to about my business.  Then I highlight a name in yellow when the person becomes a customer, and in pink when they become a team member.
This acts as a fantastic tool for me to see visually how well I am doing. I now have over 700 names on my list, and I have 21 (1 in 33) team members  of which 10 ( 1 in 70) are active (they place orders most months). I have also built up a database of 150 (1 in 5) customers over the last few years, so I can see how successful my business is by looking at the numbers, to get new customers or build my team I just need to talk to new people.
This means roughly if I want 1 new ACTIVE team member I need to speak to 70 people, and if I want a new customer I need to speak to 5 people. It really helps me to focus as if I’m not recruiting in any month, I can see immediately it’s because I’ve not spoken to enough people.  This isn’t an exact science, some pages on my list have loads of yellow and pink highlights on them, and other pages have none at all, but it’s a great guideline.

Keeping Good Records

If you are treating forever like a business and not a hobby then you need to track your activity and keep these kind of records, as otherwise you have no idea how successful your business is.  In Forever Living we have templates for keeping these lists which come in your First Steps to Manager booklet, as well as profile sheets to keep detailed information on who you have spoken to,  and an Activity Tracker to keep track of what information you have sent to prospects and when you have invited them to a Business Presentation and when they joined.
Activity Tracker
When you start out in Network Marketing you are starting your own business and you are your own boss.  Make sure you keep good records, so you can effectively follow up on inquiries as often you will need to speak to prospects several times over a few years before it is the right time for them to join your business, and without good records that fabulous new team member may well end up joining someone else’s team.

Sound Interesting?

I am currently expanding my team in the UK and beyond.  My last 3 team members who joined are based in Cheshire, London and India and I currently have space for more team members to mentor.  I would particularly like to build a team in South Africa due to the huge growth the business is currently expanding there.

If you are looking to try something new and want more information then take a look at our business brochure then message me via the Contact Me link at the top of this page and I will send you more information.

2 thoughts on “Updating your Who Do You Know List

  1. Pingback: Keeping Good Records in Network Marketing | Silicon Bullet Forever
  2. Pingback: Where to meet new people in Network Marketing | Silicon Bullet Forever

Leave a Reply

