Review – Happy Nibbling Brownies

I am continuing my hunt for mail order Keto sweet treats as although I do make delicious cakes, though I say it myself, it is just nice to sometimes have something bought for you or a lovely treat that you haven’t made yourself.

I came across Happy Nibbling through the Keto Fitness Club as Carrie, who runs the business, is a fellow club member and a regular in the cooking classes. Carrie is launching her brownie business with Organic Coconut Brownies which are made without egg, gluten, grains, nuts or refined sugar. It has been fabulous following her on Facebook as she gets started on her new venture, and she already has had the required inspections and top hygiene rating which can give you confidence in this new sweet treat business.

I ordered the Raspberry Kiss brownies as they looked so good on a recent post. Currently you order from the Facebook page by sending a message and you can buy 6 or 12 brownies in a choice of Classic Dark or Raspberry Kiss, more options and flavours will be added in the future. It’s £12 for 6 brownies and £22 for 12 with £4 postage – so I just had to order 12 Raspberry Kiss – just for taste testing you understand! There will be a website in the future and a wider variety of flavours, but sensibly Carrie is building her business slowly.

Raspberry Kiss Brownies

I paid via a paypal link over the weekend and they were sent out 1st class post on Monday and were with me in time for elevenses on Tuesday. Well packaged and protected in the box and bag it came in – on opening the pack the smell that hit me was divine.

I could not resist breaking my fast early to try one, and as someone who can often be sensitive to the taste of some sweeteners, all I tasted was moist chcoclatey goodness with a hint of raspberry. Each brownie has 1.7g of carbs so it’s a treat that needs to be rationed but I am freezing the other 11 brownies to enjoy over the next couple of weeks. OK – so I may have just lied – I have frozen 6 and kept 6 in the fridge just to make sure they are as tasty a few hours later – and the 2nd one I warmed and had with a drizzle of double cream – warming the brownie seemed to release the aroma even more. Bought brownies can often be dry and hard in texture but these were neither of these things and were divine.

The biggest bonus is a really cannot stand coconut. It is not a flavour I have ever enjoyed. Since Keto I have started to use coconut flour in recipes but if someone described something as coconut I would avoid. I could not tell these were coconut based at all – huzzah!

Happy Nibbling brownies are definitely going on my list of special treats for my family to get me for treats and birthdays – and I will also feel confident in buying them for my coeliac sister or Niece with a nut allergy.

Leave a comment