What does Aloe Gel taste like?

One of the most frequent  questions I am asked when I am meeting people to tell them about Forever Living’s Aloe Vera Gel is “what does Aloe taste like?”

If you are in a room of Forever Living Distributors, this question is always replied to with a bit of a nervous giggle – as those of us that have tasted Aloe Gel know this is not an easy question to answer.  We nod and wink and say, “it’s delicious”. It has become a bit of an in joke amongst distributors.

This is why I often have Aloe Gel available for people to taste at events, and I get many reactions to that first taste too.  Firstly by being honest and saying it is not to everyone’s taste, you do lower expectations, so many take a nervous sip and say, “it’s not THAT bad”, whilst others screw up their faces and say, “how do you drink that?” or hardly even let the gel touch their lips.

So firstly, before you taste the gel and walk away in disgust, cast your mind back to that first taste of wine, beer, spirits or even coffee that you had. Did you think that it tasted delicious straight away, or was it a taste and flavour you gradually came to love?

Drinks_large

Aloe Drinking Gels

Our Gel does come in four different varieties and flavours, although for many people the Plain Aloe Gel (or ‘The Yellow One’ thanks to the distinctive bottle colour) would be the gel of choice, some people just can’t get used to the taste – so here are a few tips to help soften the blow:

  • Drink the Gel quickly – don’t let it touch the sides.  One friend drinks hers out of a shot glass, as the positive mental images of drinking from a shot glass help it go down smoothly, another uses a wine glass for similar reasons.
  • Have another drink or snack ready to take the taste away – be that fruit juice, water, or some other drink.  My daughter uses a chocolate biscuit most mornings!
  • Add something to the Gel – you can dilute your gel with fruit juice – although orange is not recommended as it is quite acidic.  I have been told that blackcurrant juice works well.  One thing you do need to watch out for is that some of my customers don’t like this method as they can still taste the Aloe in the drink, and it just takes longer to gulp down.  A recent tip from Dr Peter Atherton (who is the GP on our Advisory Board) was to add a little fruit cordial or squash  to your Gel – this has the advantage of being less bulky and stronger in flavour than fruit juice and masks the taste quite well.
  • Start with a small dose (say 15ml) and work your way up to the recommended dose of 60ml gradually.  This gives your stomach a chance to get used to the Gel.

If you really can’t get on with the Plain Aloe Gel, then you can try one of the three other flavours.  Berry Nectar has added apple and cranberry Juice, Forever Freedom has orange juice added, and Bits n’ Peaches is the sweetest of the four with, yes, you guessed it, peach juice added.  I have written another post Which Aloe Gel is right for me ? with more details of the 4 different flavours.

The recommended daily dose of Aloe Vera Gel as a general tonic is 60ml per day, taken on am empty stomach first thing in the morning.  If you are taking the gel for a specific reason, however, you can up your daily dose to 100ml per day quite safely.  I take 60ml of Forever Freedom for the glucosamine, and condroitin and MSM due to my active lifestyle, and 60ml of Berry Nectar as I like the flavour.

So what does Aloe Vera Gel taste like?  It tastes delicious, it tastes like TCP, it tastes medicinal, it tastes like it is good for me.  The answer is different depending on who you ask – what does it taste like to you?

If you would like to try our Aloe Gel for yourself then contact me – or take a look at our webshop.

12 thoughts on “What does Aloe Gel taste like?

  1. Pingback: How Clean 9 Works and other FAQs | Silicon Bullet
  2. Pingback: What can I do after the Clean 9? | musingsofacoeliaclibrarian
  3. Pingback: Which Aloe Gel is right for me ? | Silicon Bullet Forever
  4. Pingback: New Forever Clean 9 | Silicon Bullet Forever
  5. Is there anything I could use instead of the aloe Vera gel as I can’t bare the taste and it makes me feel ill.
    Also tried the flavoured ones and they are no good.

    • We have many fantastic supplements as well as the Aloe drinks. Although these are our most popular product why not try Bee Pollen tablets as they are also full of fabulous nutrients. Please Contact Me for more advice.

  6. I’m so happy to hear I can add some natural honey to the Aloe gel – I’m determined to do my full Cleanse 9, but I dread each ‘dose’!!

  7. Pingback: 5 ways to prepare for the Clean 9 | Silicon Bullet Forever
  8. Pingback: C9 – New Flavours available | Silicon Bullet Forever

Leave a comment